How to animate lip sync?

Discussion in 'Editing Help' started by Tigrin, Apr 23, 2017.

1. Tigrin

Tigrin Member

Hey guys. So I was wondering how other editors approach lip sync. Since I have no idea what I'm doing particularly, this is how I typically handle lip sync in a scale of difficulty:

- Try to find a shot that conveniently seems to match the lip sync I want
    - Kind of cut out frames and stuff to get the mouth movements I want
    - Actually pull out frames into Photoshop from a sequence, isolate certain mouths, then bring them back in and paste as needed over the existing face ._. Possibly use masks.

Since I only have Premiere I'm a little limited. I'm an animator so you think I'd know how to do this stuff, but in the past when I've tried actually animating lip sync, I was told it looked bad, I think because it doesn't match the style expected from anime. When I see lip sync done in AMVs sometimes it looks as if the mouth has been isolated and rapidly scaled open and closed to create a talking movement. I wonder if there are certain rules of thumb or anything to make lip sync in AMVs look convincing.

Thanks for any tips you might have. Please try not to be sarcastic, haha.

2. Replay

Replay Administrator Staff Member

It does depend on the shot for me, but usually it starts with me getting some lip flaps prepared, then I cover the original lip flap and then put mine in. Depending on the shot, that could be easy or good amount of work

3. Voice From Moon

Voice From Moon Member New