SMASH! 2017 AMV Competition - Gen. II [FINALISTS REVEALED]

Discussion in 'Contests' started by Empyreanous, Jun 17, 2017.

Added to Calendar: 08-06-17
  1. Empyreanous

    Empyreanous SMASH! Assistant AMV Co-ordinator

    [​IMG]

    Click here to view the finalists!


    **Competition Info:
    A new era for SMASH! AMVs, same loving spirit,
    (just the right amount)

    Hi again folks! It's been a while!

    Thanks to all those who participated in last year's AMV competition, as well as the Blitz AMV Tournament. Because of you guys, we have become quite a popular event at SMASH! and at the end of each screenings session, we've had a number of people speak to us on who you guys are, how to make epic AMVs like that, etc. :rofl: You guys are the life and blood of the AMV competition! From Shin to Centurione, from l33tmeatwad to drewaconclusion, and to all the other editors out there, you folks have kept the Australian anime fans quite entertained with your epic works!

    The SMASH! Anime Music Competition is back for 2017, but this time, after taking on some feedback, as well as looking towards the future, we decided to start a new era for the competition; a fresh start. Maybe call it, "The Rebirth of the SMASH! AMV Competition".

    To find out more information, click on the links below:

    Main AMV Page
    Rules and Submissions Guidelines
    Submission form
    Our Video AMV site

    When does the competition start: NOW!
    When does the competition close: Sunday, August 6, 2017 @ 11:59 p.m. (AEST/UTC+10) (Deadline for your timezone is at the end of this post)

    --------

    So, are you curious to know what the changes are compared from the last ten years? We've listened to your feedback and adjusted to the current AMV environment. Here are some of the following changes:

    Introducing a new award: SMASH! AMV of the Year - This was a long time coming and after the amazing amount of people who voted in last year's SMASH! AMV of the Decade, we decided to finally put this in and give glory to the one who makes the best AMV at SMASH! for the year 2017!
    The Blitz AMV Tournament has been discontinued :( - While we did enjoy running it, we noticed that it took the editors a lot of time to get their videos done. As such, we decided to close it down.
    ONLY ONE (1) AMV SUBMISSION! - For the sake of originality, for this year, you can submit only one AMV, so more time to focus on one, and not just put in three (although if you do that, you must be a superhuman)
    Your AMV MUST NOT have been entered in previous SMASH! AMV competitions, nor have competed in any other previous competitions - To preserve the fairness and originality of the competition, we decided to implement this rule, as we'd like to see all editors battle it out in Australia's biggest AMV competition! :D
    Japanese made animations from games and other shows, manga artworks AND Japanese style animation not produced in Japan are NOW ALLOWED to be used in your AMV! - We decided to be a bit flexible and let you expand your creativity!
    Videos can now be made up to 6 minutes - We are giving you that extra minute to showcase your AMV. However, make sure you keep us entertained throughout the AMV!
    Crucially, the way we judge AMVs - Every year, we strive to make sure we choose the best AMVs out there and this year is no exception. However, we will be sure to judge your AMV based on a number of factors such as your originality, creativity, technical abilities, video and music integration, along with following the rules. There will be finalists revealed before the SMASH! event period so you can see who will stand out the most amongst the others!

    These are some of the many changes and additions that we offer in the SMASH! AMV Competition! Again, please look at the rules and submission guidelines to make sure you know what to do when entering the competition!

    --------

    That's all there is to it!

    For those who decide to come back and enter in the AMV competition, Welcome back! :mrgreen:

    For those who are new to this, your participation in this competition is greatly appreciated, and we will do our best to show your works to the Australian public (and the world too). :D

    If you have any questions or queries, please do not hesitate to contact us on amv@smash.org.au, via PM here in the forums or just simply message in this thread and we will get back to you ASAP!

    Well what are you waiting for? Get cracking and come and join Australia's biggest AMV competition! And for those who enter, I wish you Good Luck and all the best!


    - Renato, Nathan, Eake and Anam

    --------

    What time is the deadline in your end? Find out below!

    UTC+/0 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 1:59 p.m.
    Cities include: Reykjavik

    UTC+1 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 2:59 p.m.
    Cities include: London, Dublin, Lisbon

    UTC+2 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 3:59 p.m.
    Cities include: Paris, Frankfurt, Rome, Madrid, Zurich, Johannesburg

    UTC+3 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 4:59 p.m.
    Cities include: Sofia, Athens, Helsinki, Bucharest, Istanbul

    UTC+4 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 5:59 p.m.
    Cities include: Moscow, Dubai

    UTC+5 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 6:59 p.m.
    Cities include: Karachi, Islamabad

    UTC+5:30 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 7:29 p.m.
    Cities include: New Delhi, Mumbai

    UTC+6 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 7:59 p.m.
    Cities include: Yangon

    UTC+7 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 8:59 p.m.
    Cities include: Bangkok

    UTC+8 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 9:59 p.m.
    Cities include: Perth, Singapore, Manila, Hong Kong, Beijing, Kuala Lumpur

    UTC+9 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 10:59 p.m.
    Cities include: Tokyo, Seoul

    UTC+9:30 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 11:29 p.m.
    Cities include: Adelaide, Darwin

    UTC+10 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 11:59 p.m.
    Cities include: Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Canberra, Hobart

    UTC+12 - Monday, 7 August 2017 @ 1:59 a.m.
    Cities include: Auckland, Wellington

    UTC-10 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 3:59 a.m.
    Cities include: Honolulu

    UTC-8 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 5:59 a.m.
    Cities include: Anchorage

    UTC-7 (Pacific Daylight Time) - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 6:59 a.m.
    Cities include: Los Angeles, Seattle, Vancouver, Phoenix

    UTC-6 (Mountain Daylight Time) - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 7:59 a.m.
    Cities include: Calgary, Edmonton, Denver, Tegucigalpa

    UTC-5 (Central Daylight Time) - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 8:59 a.m.
    Cities include: Chicago, Houston, New Orleans, Winnipeg, Bogota

    UTC-4 (Eastern Daylight Time) - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 9:59 a.m.
    Cities include: Atlanta, Boston, New York, Washington DC, Toronto, Santiago

    UTC-3 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 10:59 a.m.
    Cities include: Halifax, Buenos Aires, Sao Paolo, Rio de Janeiro
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2017 at 5:32 AM
  2. Empyreanous

    Empyreanous SMASH! Assistant AMV Co-ordinator

    Just a friendly reminder that there is now ONE MONTH left until the deadline! Make sure you get your entries in before 6th August for your chance to show off your amazing creativity and skills!! :D
     
  3. Empyreanous

    Empyreanous SMASH! Assistant AMV Co-ordinator

    Hey guys! Just updating to let you guys know there is about TWO WEEKS until the deadline! Make sure you get your entries in before 6th August for your chance achieve glory and to win a prize in this years competition! So get around to completing those unfinished AMVs if you still haven't already!! :D
     
  4. Empyreanous

    Empyreanous SMASH! Assistant AMV Co-ordinator

    ONE WEEK TO GO!!!! If you have any unfinished AMVs or an already completed AMV that you think is worthy for this year's competition, start finishing them up and/or make those adjustments so you can submit before 6th August. Make sure you tell your friends too! Anyone who enters has a chance to win an amazing prize, achieve recognition and become apart of SMASH!'s Hall of Fame!
     
  5. Anir Stark

    Anir Stark New Member

    how can i participate
     
  6. Empyreanous

    Empyreanous SMASH! Assistant AMV Co-ordinator

    Hi! You can join by submitting an AMV here :D
     
  7. Empyreanous

    Empyreanous SMASH! Assistant AMV Co-ordinator

    JUST UNDER 48 HOURS TO GO!!!

    Got that unfinished project that has potential to be a great finished video? Maybe an older video that hasn't been entered in a competition yet? Or maybe you are feeling like a challenge to make a video in less than 48 hours - granted you probably wouldn't sleep but it could be worth it if you end up winning something!! All the options and more! We don't want to stop you from entering at all!! Your AMV has a chance to premiere in the big screens at the SMASH! convention! Or you can be apart of our Hall of Fame!

    So what are you guys waiting for... ENTER NOW!
     
  8. Empyreanous

    Empyreanous SMASH! Assistant AMV Co-ordinator

    Less than 24 hours to go!!!
     
  9. Empyreanous

    Empyreanous SMASH! Assistant AMV Co-ordinator

    Hey Guys! Thanks to everyone who entered this year's competition! We are glad to see some new and old faces joining the competition! :D

    However your participation is not over yet! We will have the voting for the People's Choice Award coming soon, so keep an eye out on this thread (and for those who have entered, your emails)!

    If you have any questions or issues that you would like to address during this period, feel free to comment on this thread or email us at amv@smash.org.au :)
     
  10. Empyreanous

    Empyreanous SMASH! Assistant AMV Co-ordinator

    VOTING FOR THE PEOPLE'S CHOICE AWARD IS NOW OPENED! Check our main post for more information on how to cast your vote :D
     

Share This Page